Swimming Pool

College had a privilege of using a swimming pool at the valley which was build up by then Principal A.F. Billimoria in early 1930's, using natural water fall, later It was unused on natural causes. Dahramaraja College is the first school to have own swimming pool in the history.

The new swimming pool complex came to a mind during a meeting held by Old Boys Union -Colombo Brnach representatives and Mr.E.W.Balasuriya (Chairman - Senkadagala Finance Co. Ltd.) in May 2001, where he offered a fund of Rs.6.0 Million and to built a swimming pool for the College. This was fund maintained by Kandy Swimming Club-started by Mr.E.W. Balasuriya)

This idea and the support highly honored by the DRC-OBU (Colombo Branch) and launched the project in the year 2001 July at their Annual Dinner held in Trans Asia Hotel-Colombo.

Total project cost was them Rs.15.0 million, and OBU Colombo Branch started fund raising activities to meet the balance Rs.9.0 million in deficit but it was a big task, but we manage to generate Rs.4.0 million from Old Boys' Parents and well wishes.

In November 2006, we had a chance to meet His Excellancy Mahinda Rajapaksha, With Minsiter Mr.Keheliya Rambukwella. Principal-Mr.S.M.Keerthiratne and OBU Representatives and after having a fruitful discussion, His Excellency directed his officials to help on this matter under "Tharuniyata Hetak Foundation" which comes under Mr.Namal Rajapaksha.

In January 2007, we arrange foundation stone laying ceremony on a auspicious time with Minsiter Keheliya Rambukwella, Mr.Namal Rajapaksha, Principal - Mr.S.M.Keerthiratne and other distinguished guests.

The cost estimation on newly desinged complex was in Total Rs.35.0 million, out of that contribution from Tharuniya Hetak Foundation is Rs.15.0 million and to meet the cost of Swimming Pools and Pavilion. The rest of Rs.20.0 million generated through the fund accumulated at Kandy Swimming Club, donations form Old Boys' Parents and well wishes to meet the costs of site preparation. retaining walls, changing rooms, canteen. etc.

This project was managed by the Steering Committee and members were,

  • Major W.M.Weerasooriya-Chairman
  • Mr.S.B.Heratrh-Secretary/Convener
  • Mr.D.M.Dharmathilake-Treasurer
  • Mr.Jagath Samarasinghe-Member
  • Mr.Sarath Mataraarachchi (P.O.G.)
  • Dr. Udaya Dissanayake (Chairman-Technical Committee)

With the assistance of Technical Committee -

  • Dr. Udaya Dissanayake-Chairman (Consulting Engineer)
  • Dr.Udeni Amarasinghe- Geological Engineer
  • Mr.SarathKulatunge- Architect
  • Mr.Sarath Sath Kumara- Quantity Surveyor

Cordinators -

  • Major Anil Perera/Mr.Saliya Alexander

It took 03 years to complete the job from January 2007 and to 2010, where Ceremonially declared opened by His Excellency Mahinda Rajapaksha, President Of The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on 17.01.2010.