Computer Society

Establishment of Dharmaraja College Computer Club:

First the aims & objectives of establishing a Computer Club were presented to the Teacher-in-Charge Mr Jayantha Senevirathne.

Giving his willingness to start the first Computer Club DRCCC became the first Club in Kandy district and the Central Province.

As a result the inauguration meeting was held on the 12th of June 1991 under the patronage of Computer Science-Subject coordinator Mr. Jayantha Senevirathne. Mr.Nihal Herath the College Principal was inducted as the patron of the Club.


Executive Commettee - DRCCC – 1991/1992:

President: Ranil Herath
Secretary: Ashan Gunarathne
Vice Treasurer: Sathischandra Wijemanna
Vice president: Janaka Edirisooriya
Asst.Secretary: Asanka Amarasekara


Board of Directors:

Club Service: V. S. Wijemanna
  N. Hettiarachchi
Finance: T Gunawarnasooriya
Correspondence: K. Dorabawila
Editors: Maddumabandara
Coordinator: T. Matarage 


Computer Day Celebration:

The inaugural “Computer Celebration and Certificate Awarding” of DRCCC was held on 28th October 1991 at D.S.Senanayake Memorial Auditorium under the distinguish patronage Prof V.K.Samaranayake ,Chairman 0f CINTEC of University of Colombo. This was the first Certificate Awarding ceremony to be held at the College in the field of ICT.

“The Memories of you will never fade in the field of ICT for the work that you have done and this is just a tiny mark of gratitude to say thank you for every thing and let you rest in peace.”


Installation of the 2nd Committee:

The inauguration meeting was held , on 24th June 1994 under patronage of the Principal Mr Damunupola  and Teacher In Charge – Computer Science Mrs.Srimathi Karunaratne.


Executive Commettee -  1994/1995 :

Vice Treasurer:
Vice president:
Indika Guruge
Dammika Mendis
Anuradha Udunuwara
Piniwan Welekoon
Lasitha Lansakaranayake

Committee  Members:

  Caraka Rushan Ranasinghe
Mahendra Gunarathne
Indika Silva
A.T.B. Wejekoon


1st  Computer Science – Quiz Team    -   1994

Represented the 2nd Island wide Inter- School Computer Science Quiz Competition, which was held on 2nd to 5th March 1995 at the Sri Lanka Exhibition & Convention Centre, Colombo 10.

V. Captain:
Dammika Mendis
Charaka Ranasinghe
Mahendra Gunarathne
Chandana Tennakoon


Installation of the 3nd Committee:

Appointed the new  executive committee  for the year 1995/1996  at the Annual   General Meeting,held on 14th March 1995 under the patronage of  Teacher In Charge – Computer Science, Mrs. Srimathi Karunaratne.


Executive Commettee -  1995/1996

Vice Treasurer:
Vice president:

Charaka Rushan Ranasinghe
Mahendra Senaka Gunarathne
Chandana Bandara Tennakoon
Anuradha Rathnaweera
Chathura Weerasinghe
Damitha Ishan Hewawickrama
Kapila Nandika Bandara


Board of Directors:

Club Services:
Sandun Wickramasinghe
Dammika Yasarathne
Dushyantha Panawatta


Achievements of the society

Competition Achievement Awarding body Team members  
Quiz competition in the year 2000 Championship with a gift of Rs. 6000 to buy books   Lions club and golden key institute kandy Team A:
A.M. Amaranayake
R. De Mel
C. Willamuna
D. Welagedara
A. Rubasinghe  
IT Quiz and animation competition In the year 2000   Championship Trinity College Kandy Quiz:
A.M. Amaranayake 
R. De Mel
C. Willamuna
D. Welagedara
A. Rubasinghe
A. Ehaliyagoda
S. Rathnaweera
Web site Development Competition 2001 Champions  A computor was awarded


Instute of information sciences in collaboration with lions Club 1.N.B. Perera
M.S.K. Ilangasekara
H.B. Wejesekara
S.M. Amarakoon
S.S. Kuruppu
Quiz competition in the year 2001   2 nd place Computer Club of Vidyartha College , Kandy N.B. Perera
A.D.K. Athauda
G.W. Jayarathne
Manjula Herath
Quiz Competition in the year 2002   Runners up Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College R. De Mel
A. Abeygunasekara
A. Eheliyagoda
Malinda Perera
Best Web Designer Competition 2002 Champions Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College Nipuna Perera
M.S.K.I. langasekaran Aabeygunasekara
Best Trouble shooter Coppetition 2002 3rd Place Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College Sanka Eilbagedara
Best IT Essay Competition 2002 Champions Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College Ruwan P. Premathilake
Best 3D Model Competition Champions Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College Kavan J. Senevirathne
Best Software Competition    2002 2nd Place Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College J M V Vimukthi
M P Herath 
Dumidu Wijesekara
SriLanka National Informatics Olympaid  2002 5 students have been selected  for the training programme University of Colombo  
IT Quiz Competition 2002 Champions Computer Club of St. Sylvester’s College Ruslan S Amarasinghe
IT Quiz Competition 2002 Runners up Computer Club of St. Trinity College College R S Amarasinghe 
R N Samarasinghe 
C J Munsinghe 
I B Nawinna
P C Trouble Shooting Competition 2003 Champions Kingswood Undergatuate Union of Kingwood College R N Samarasinghe 
M Kulasinghe 
A G D  K umara
IT Quiz Competition 2004 Champions Coner Stone Computer Training School K Senevirathne 
U P Pallekumbura 
S M Amarakoon 
V J Munasinghe 
K C Rambukwella 
G Mannapperuma
Best Creative Mucecian 2002 Champions IT Quiz Competition 2002 Chanaka Wijepala 
T Wansapura 
Gayan Handapangoda